Dodge Charger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
So it's my second fill-up. I'm averaging 280 miles per tank. At fill up it's taking a strong 16 gallons, this last fill up was 16.93 gallons. I did out the math and I'm getting 16.53 mpgs!!! :eek: - That sucks!
I got the 6 because of the gas mileage "gains". As of right now, my buddy who's daily commute mirrors mine, is getting BETTER mileage out of the V8 Charger! :mad:

·
Registered
447 Posts
That sucks !!! You should get better with some more milage. I would go back to the dealer as I think that you should have a lot better milage then that. :(

·
Registered
455 Posts
Yeah somethin aint adding up even if you were laying into it all the time it should be seeing way better numbers then that. I push my R/T around quite a bit and still average 18mpg by fill up and im a Realtor so I drive mostly showings and short trips very little freeway these days.

·
Premium Member
1,926 Posts
It depends on where youre driving, and what kind of traffic there is in your commute. usually people mileage from NYC is ALOT different from people in rural areas of the country.

·
Registered
288 Posts
I drive about 90 miles a day round trip to/from work. Morning commute is stop and go 45-65mph & my drive home is open highway roads 65-85 mph. Usually I average 20-21.5 mpg with my 5.7L

·
Registered
155 Posts
Short trips and winter formula gas will really cut into your gas mileage. With winter formula gas and cold weather my mpg on my daily driver ('13 Subaru Outback 2.5i) dropped almost 3 mpg from my long-term 13k miles average. Also, from my experience, most people tend to exaggerate their real gas mileage. I would take your buddy's mpg comments somewhat with a grain of salt until you do the actual driving in his car and do the mpg calculation.