Dodge Charger Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2013 Charger SXT AWD, CEL came on the day after getting the oil changed at Jiffy Lube.
Coincidence, I do not know, but figured they used the incorrect oil.

Checking the EVIC I see the oil pressure stays at 90 psi even with the engine off. Checking the code P0520 it sounds like I need a new sender switch.

Doing some internet searches I find that the switch is located under the intake manifold. No problem as I was an automotive tech in my earlier days. Just the same I figured let me call the dealer and get a price.
You could have floored me when I was told $685 for the job. The breakdown was 200 parts (switch and intake gaskets) and the rest labor (2.5 hrs).

Further searches show that this is not an uncommon problem with the oil pressure switches used by FCA to fail prematurely.

I am a bit hesitant using OEM as some have complained of failure in 1500 miles. I see the last 2 letters of the part number has changed from AA to AB. Has this part been made better?

Looking at different auto stores I am seeing some questionable reviews of some of the aftermarket switches as well.

Is there anyone here in the business that can recommend a specific brand?

·
Registered
189 Posts
Common issue, my '13 van with the pentastar had one replaced in 2014 at 7k miles.
Threw P0520 also, it was stuck on 99psi.
Dealer used OEM of course (not sure if it was AA or AB ), got 75k on the van now, no issues.
I could have done it myself but since it was warranty no point in that.
You have to remove both upper and lower intakes to get to the oil cooler, not really that difficult though.
I had the upper intake off for plugs and that was pretty straightforward.
You can get the OEM switch and the fel-pro set of 12 gaskets for under $100, then a few hrs of your time.
My charger has 47k on it but haven't had this issue yet.
I'm curious to see if anyone has had good luck with non-OEM.

·
Registered
32 Posts