Dodge Charger Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been told that going 8 cylinder all the time will increase longevity & performance. True or? Is there any benefit in using 8 all the time? Also will it drastically increase gas cost? Is changing a simple computer mod?
I am very new to this so any help is appreciated...

Mike

·
Registered
1,231 Posts
I have been told that going 8 cylinder all the time will increase longevity & performance. True or? Is there any benefit in using 8 all the time? Also will it drastically increase gas cost? Is changing a simple computer mod?

Mike
Hello and welcome Mike! It depends on the person and what you're aim is w/the car...for performance minded..it's a 'go big or go home' kinda thing and 8 will perform better (in most cases), but if your concern is gas mileage, then yes..keep w/ECO-Mode turned on. However, if you need to act suddenly (needing to switch lanes abruptly and accelerate quickly,) eco-mode takes it a sec to kick off and get you back to full 8 and you will feel that lag.

Turning it completely off is as simple as plugging in a programmer (Diablosport, B&G, Accel, etc..) and turning it off, as well as I believe there is also a setting in the Tazer Programmer that does it as well.

Increasing gas cost comes down to the driver most times as well, weather or not you have a "lead-foot" and weather you consistently drive at a calm, normal pace...but naturally, a V8 will always suck more gas than anything below it...just the name of the game.

Hope this helps....

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have hear about the hesitaton in cruise control mode and don't like that idea. That being said I'll see how it goes on my 3000 mile drive from Toronto to Vancouver an go from there, thanks.

·
Registered
278 Posts