Dodge Charger Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently bought a 2011 Charger and got my two 12 inch subs put it and got some new 6x9 speakers in the front doors. The problem I'm having is that the door speakers are only playing bass and I purchased these speakers in the hopes that it could boost my highs/vocals. The car audio shop that did the job said that the door speakers are designed to play the lows/bass from the factory. The guy told me that to get it to play full range I would need an Amp and some sort of wiring harness. It sounded like he said an "AP4 harness" but I'm not positive. I don't mind buying a small Amp or something but must I get this wiring harness as well to get the speakers to play properly. If so, how much does something like that cost? I'm new to all of this and I'm just trying to find the simplest way to get these speakers working. Thanks for any help

·
Registered
256 Posts
6x9”s are for the mid and lows but won’t hit a hz level as low as a sub will. Now if you got 2 or 3 way 6x9”s then there should be some higher mid and high range hz there unless there’s a factory bypass but I have no idea if that’s the case.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Did you ever figure out what to do? I have a 2011 charger se and I just installed 6x9 3 way speakers in my front doors but just bass is coming out I’m also trying to install a sub which is in my trunk but I do not know where to plug in any of the wires.

·
Registered
23 Posts
I heard of these but never had to use them. I don’t know if 2010 is that different, but my new 6x9’s sound great, they had now highs before.
46453D0F-72A4-4499-9BC1-993F5962C21E.png

·
Registered
156 Posts
6x9s in the doors are only receiving mid-bass (100-300hz).
Options
1. Upgrade doors with CDT 6x9 mid-bass drivers and upgrade 3.5s in dash