Dodge Charger Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good afternoon this is my first time posting I have a 2007 Dodge Charger srt-8 with a brake issue... The passenger rear caliper gets stuck sometimes and doesn’t seem to release all the way when I take my foot off the brake it makes a grinding sound most of the time. Here’s my question are the remanufactured calipers from Autozone and advance auto parts equivalent to the original? Or should I rebuild the original one on the car? Part# 18-5085 at advance auto parts & part# 97R17723B at Autozone please help I know there’s a lot of srt8 experience on here thanks

·
Registered
1,422 Posts
First off, if it makes a grinding noise, are the pads wore out? If the caliper pistons are over extended, this can cause a problem. Secondly, I have used Autozone parts a lot, and have had no problem with them since a lot of them are lifetime warranty.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
First off, if it makes a grinding noise, are the pads wore out? If the caliper pistons are over extended, this can cause a problem. Secondly, I have used Autozone parts a lot, and have had no problem with them since a lot of them are lifetime warranty.
When it first starting making the grinding noise I assumed it was the pads so I bought some new pads and changed them, the noise went away for a few miles until I started using the brakes frequently and the noise came back. So I believe the caliper is not opening back all the way when I take my foot off the brake and sometimes it locks up. So I’m guessing the caliper is going bad. But trying to find a affordable replacement is a headache but I might go with the Autozone replacement because I use there parts for my other cars as well.

·
Registered
780 Posts
Welcome from Pittsburgh! I have no additional insights that could help with your brake issue, but I do wish you luck! Lots of knowledgeable people here!

Reactions: chargersrt8miami

·