Dodge Charger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm about to do my first mod on my SE, a Cold Air Intake system. I'm no mechanic, but am pretty handy and very good at taking things apart and putting them back together. With that said I've become a bit confused as I've tried to learn about CAI's and the differences between brands and types. I've been looking at all of the brands, K&N, Big Bully, AFE, Volant, Airaid, etc. I've noticed that there are different stage CAI's. Stage 1, 2 and 3. From what I understand Stage 1's don't replace the intake tube, just the filter box and filter. Stage 2's replace the filter box, filter and the intake tube. Is there a difference in power and/or sound when using a stage 2 CAI over a stage 1 CAI? I'm looking at an Airaid that is a stage 1, but I don't want to waist my money if it's not going to give me anything. Here's the one I'm looking at...

[URL="http://www.airaid.com/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=350-171"][url]http://www.airaid.com/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=350-171[/URL][/URL]

I've found it for as little as about $160.00, which is part of the motivator, about 1/2 of the stage 2's, but it dosen't replace the stock intake tube. Is there anyone out there that has some experience they can share regarding CAI's? I'm looking first for a sound improvement, and if possible some performance improvements as well. Thanks.

·
Registered
897 Posts
i've had what you called a type 2 intake and made by a reputable brand and now i have an ebay intake that i got for less than 100 that is "stage II" and it works great with a k&N filter ! If your willing to spend a bit more money check out bigbully intakes from what i have heard they have a quality product

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
ebay vs Name Brand

@chargermania