Dodge Charger Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys and gals - newbie here
Have a 2014 AWD v8 R/T Charger until last weekend when I had a little accident - see picture attached. Unfortunately it was my fault as I slowed down approaching some traffic lights as they were changing to green, but not quite enough as I ran into the car ahead. I estimate that I was only travelling at about 30 - 40 mph and ran into the back of a Jeep that sustained only minor damage and was able to drive away no problem. I was pulling a trailer with an ATV on - not a good ending to a great day.

Question - the damage to my car seems excessive, as the airbags did not deploy. Thankfully no one was injured. Insurance company have now totalled the vehicle as the engine has moved backwards and estimates to repair are in excess of $15k. Absolutely gutted as I specifically chose this car after running a similar 2011 Charger without AWD and with the snow in Michigan this was not fun. Similar cars seem a rare as rocking horse sh*t.

- has anyone else had similar experience with large damage from a minor shunt - seems unreal that they will not repair the car?
- should I persevere and try and find the same replacement car? need one quickish as my rental runs out next weekend and I need a car for work. Looked on Autotrader and only 6 similar vehicles within 200 miles
- Thoughts on replacing with a newer v6, with lots of toys but not sure of the and noticeability of loss of power. I have had fun (not) in my rental Rav4!

Any help/guidance gratefully received.

Attachments

·
Registered
945 Posts
First off, a belated welcome to the Colonies.

Airbag deployment is not a reliable indicator of the severity of a given crash. From the NHTSA's website: