Dodge Charger Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys and gals,

I bought the car because it looks terrific and talks loud. I have a black on black model and love it. I do not know all the acronyms and HP for this car. I am a driver though. I drove 42, to 45 thousand miles per year and know how to drive well. I don't have the " touch " for this car yet, only 1300 miles so far, but I will. I can hear when I picked up a pebble to soda cap on the tires immediately. I know the sound of the car and know how to be 'one with the car'. Silly wording but I become part of the car or vice versa. OK now to the question, I had a slight hesitation when pulling out of the driveway and the slight thump of the car engaging the tranny, you know like a half second or three quarters of a second. The car was not warmed up at all, started and shifted, thump. When I hear and feel this on my other cars it's usually time for a trade in or get ready to fix the tranny. Perhaps I should wait a minute or two, then go. I'll keep an ear out for this potential problem. What say you?

·
Registered
2,368 Posts
Well, congrats on the new car and welcome to the site. I can't say there's anything wrong with the description you gave for the transmission. Worse case, your transmission may need a software update. With that said, the 8-speeds are pretty rock solid. Its rare to hear one failed.

Reactions: RedRiverII

·
Registered
947 Posts
Hey red,

You said "had", singular. If it happens again, call the dealer. I have had my transmission "clunk" so to speak recently and I chalked it up to the converter filling/engaging when the drivetrain was slack and the trans maybe changing gears at the same time maybe.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks sc, Only does it in the am early or first start. If I let it warm up a minute or two then nothing. Good looking out, thank you.

·
Registered
2,368 Posts