Dodge Charger Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What do you guys feel about painting a car (or bumper cover in this case) myself.

I have 0 experience but I'm very much a DIY type of guy. I got banged up in my last accident and it was just about all aesthetic so I decided to do it myself. I should have just paid the damn deductible but I have to say it's been fun putting everything back together. Anyway, putting the final touches on, I figured if I can pickup a new skill throughout this whole thing (painting) I'm all for it.

How hard is it? I'm looking at pitch black paint. I don't know if that helps -- I would think it might make it a bit easier to learn on black? Who knows, like I said, I have no experience with it other than plasti-dipping my emblems and wheels -- yeah so like I said, zero experience.

The front bumper cover I ordered came in flat black. I love the flat black look, but don't want to drop that much money on my car if it's not going to give me a performance increase.

Give me the hard facts and I'll make my decision based on that. I want this thing looking pretty again, and soon.

Thanks in advance.

·
Drive it like u stole it!
4,819 Posts
What do you guys feel about painting a car (or bumper cover in this case) myself.

I have 0 experience but I'm very much a DIY type of guy. I got banged up in my last accident and it was just about all aesthetic so I decided to do it myself. I should have just paid the damn deductible but I have to say it's been fun putting everything back together. Anyway, putting the final touches on, I figured if I can pickup a new skill throughout this whole thing (painting) I'm all for it.

How hard is it? I'm looking at pitch black paint. I don't know if that helps -- I would think it might make it a bit easier to learn on black? Who knows, like I said, I have no experience with it other than plasti-dipping my emblems and wheels -- yeah so like I said, zero experience.