Dodge Charger Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

· Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys,

Finally, the famous HEMI tick, has hit the Engine... and the car has only 53K miles on it (Since 2015).
I've done some research, and found on youtube a channel recommending to use the Hellcat Oil Pump for it's high pressure to reduce the lifters failure.

So I need your help guys in deciding which option should I go for?

1. Replace the Lifters with MDS and keep it as it was and go for Hellcat Oil Pump?
2. Replace the Lifters with non-MDS Hellcat lifters and cam, but will they fit directly plug-play on the 6.4 though? Yes, I do have an unlocked PCM from Diablo for the non-MDS tune.

I am confused and can't make up my mind, should I disable the MDS or leave it as it is? I know disabling it is good and all but... I don't know. What do you guys think?

I am no pro in HEMI, nor pro in tuning or doing heavy mods, just basic knowledge and forgive me if I am being dumb.
I am not into track or drag but if a Mustang or a Lexus RC F comes next to me and wants to pull believe me I won't hesitate.

Your help is highly appreciated.

Thanks

· Registered
2017 Charger R/T Blacktop
9,736 Posts
While I don't think a Hellcat oil pump would hurt anything I doubt it would help. If there was an inherent oiling problem every hemi would fail and they don't. Lifter failures are the result of poor quality in the parts used improper hardening or material. The so called Hellcat lifters are the same as those used in the 5.7 and 6.4 manual engines.

· Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
While I don't think a Hellcat oil pump would hurt anything I doubt it would help. If there was an inherent oiling problem every hemi would fail and they don't. Lifter failures are the result of poor quality in the parts used improper hardening or material. The so called Hellcat lifters are the same as those used in the 5.7 and 6.4 manual engines.
True, so what do you suggest in my case?