·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)

·
Registered
6,960 Posts
I'm thinking about switching my spark plugs to these
http://www.autotrucktoys.com/dodge_charger/E3-Dodge-Charger-Spark-Plugs-06-Up-P23178C2309.aspx

How many would I need? I'm not the brightest when it comes to engine's so help is appreaciated. Not to sure if anything would change like they claim but im guessing they'd be better than stock.
You need 16 spark plugs. Listen, I am an auto technician and though I could tell you a lot of things about those plugs I don`t really get into bashing aftermarket makers. I will praise aftermarket items when praise is due. Having said that I can now say this. I would go with factory spark plugs in your 5.7.

·
Registered
6,960 Posts
I can also add this without being guilty of slander. I have seen those type of plugs end up costing the owners more money due to other parts failing. That`s all I can say. I hope you get my drift.

·
Registered
698 Posts
Hope your pockets are deep!

I put platinums in my truck a couple of months ago. Cost over $100, just for the plugs. What you've picked will cost you 16 x $7.98 about $128 before tax.

Did the install myself. #5 and #7 are pretty damn hard to get to behind the brake booster in the truck. Looks like there is more room in the car. The truck had 70,000 miles at the time, help the fuel economy a little, didn't notice a performce change. Good luck.

·
Registered
698 Posts
Interesting?

I can also add this without being guilty of slander. I have seen those type of plugs end up costing the owners more money due to other parts failing. That`s all I can say. I hope you get my drift.
I put Bosch +4 platinums in my truck, was that a mistake? What kinds of failures might I keep an eye out for?

·
Registered
7,498 Posts
What about the iridium Champions, or NGKs?