Dodge Charger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
4,101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I finally got around to replacing mine. Thanks to everyone here on the Z that has loaded pictures and offered suggestions which that gave me the confidence to give it a try. I'm not a professional mechanic, just an average guy that loves doing anything that involves spending time with the car.

I encourage anyone considering doing this themselves to do so. While the photos can be intimidating, it's not hard. I took the extra time to record the project in hopes that it will also help what others have already posted. If anyone has anything to add or critique, please feel free to comment.

Did you run into any issues putting the shifter assembly back together with the shifter not in drive? We couldnt get the damn thing to lock properly and noticed in the bt video that they had it drive. Did it like that and it worked.
YouTube - Park Interlock.wmv[/URL]

·
Registered
4,326 Posts
REPs brother!!!!!!!!!!

·
Getting back in the game!
37,448 Posts
Man, I have replaced 3 of these so far and would have loved to watch your video before hand! :TU: Mad reps coming, brother! :rep:

·
Staffing since 2008
20,667 Posts
Thats an excellent write up bro, major rep coming atcha. Im not sure if I heard it, but did you run into any issues putting the shifter assembly back together with the shifter not in drive?

·
Registered
4,101 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thats an excellent write up bro, major rep coming atcha. Im not sure if I heard it, but did you run into any issues putting the shifter assembly back together with the shifter not in drive?
Thankfully, no. I must have missed that tip. What is supposed to happen if you don't?

·
Staffing since 2008
20,667 Posts
I dont know, we couldnt get the damn thing to lock properly and noticed in the bt video that they had it drive. Did it like that and it worked.

·
Registered
1,193 Posts