Dodge Charger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
367 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got a 2007 Charger RT Daytona. I'm looking for the best catback system that's CARB legal. Thanks guys:TU:

·
12,919 Posts
I found a couple of items on some other forums:

"It depends on few of things really
-How loud it is (how noticeable)
-If it affects the catalytic converter
-And if the cop isn't in a good mood lol
But by law your car has to have a catalytic converter and mufflers and I found this for ya:

"No person shall use a muffler cut-out or by-pass. No person shall operate a motor vehicle on any way which motor vehicle is equipped (1) with a muffler from which the baffle plates, screens or other original internal parts have been removed and not replaced; or (2) with an exhaust system which has been modified in a manner which will amplify or increase the noise emitted by the exhaust."

I'm no expert, but from looking around I think as long as you pass smog (which almost any cat-back system should) and aren't too loud, you should be fine. As far as I know, even most shorty headers are CARB legal. The BBK headers I have are. Also, for what it's worth, I have a Solo Performance exhaust system and I like it.

·
Registered
367 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What do you think of the Flowmaster American Thunder kit? Its a reasonable price. I had a Borla on my 2004 Mustang Mach 1 that sounded nice but I dont wanna spend that much. Do these Charger Daytonas allready have a single baffle muffler on them? I thought I read something like that before. Thanks again

·
Registered
35 Posts
Check out Zoomer's Exhaust, I have that system on my car and it sounds amazing. You really get to hear that exhaust note when you want to and it is very quiet at cruising speed with no drone. Well worth the look.

·
#speedlogix
6,401 Posts

·
Registered
367 Posts
Discussion Starter #6